Symbols of Astrology

Signs, Glyphs, Elements, and Modes

These notes accompany the following Study Guide Charts:

NB: These Study Guides are a supplement to the more in-depth discussions in the main text. | QuickLinks to booklet Chapters | More Links |

The band of the sky in which the planets move is called the Zodiac. The Zodiac is divided into 12 Signs, each of which contains 30 degrees (1/12th of a circle).

Each Sign represents a specific energy pattern and has a corresponding House. The House of a sign represents the field of experience, the arena, in which the energy pattern of the Sign acts in your life. Each house has a planet which is it's natural ruler.

The four basic ELEMENTS can each act in three basic ways. or MODES.
Each group of three Signs of the same element is called a Triplicity.
Each group of four Signs of the same mode is called a Quadruplicity.

Introduction to Astrology
|| Introduction || Symbols of Astrology || The Natal Chart || Sun, Moon, Ascendant || The Planets ||
|| Signs of the Zodiac || Houses || Aspects || Signs, Glyphs, Elements, Modes ||

Study Guides:
|| Signs of the Zodiac, Houses, Planetary Rulers || Elements: Fire, Earth, Air, Water ||
|| Modes: Cardinal, Fixed, Mutable || Sample Chart || Glossary ||